cutting back is adding

Why does someone attempting to live simply need a blog you might ask. I did. Why add to my screen time as I try to cut back on it? Well, as a new mother (of a now five-month-old), I need a place to both keep track of my efforts to make our family’s life simpler and richer and to hold myself accountable to them. To inspire myself and others by showing that cutting back is adding greatly.

I am not a perfectionist in this regard. I am not a minimalist out of some Utopian vision but rather out of necessity. In fact, I probably don’t qualify as a minimalist at all. But I am trying nonetheless to increase my time and happiness by decreasing my possessions. As my husband and I work and continue our educations and raise a small child in a smallish apartment, it is essential that we not accumulate any more than we need- in all respects. Need is relative I am finding, but in our tiny space, it is easy to feel that we have plenty more than enough.

Our lives are chaotic. But they don’t have to be. We just need to re-prioritize.

I found minimalism when I was pregnant and imaging all of the things that come with having a baby. Literally, things. And I read The Minimalist Mom’s Guide to Baby’s First Year. While not following all the advice, we have done well so far in our little one-bedroom.

So we’re pragmatic. I’m just seeing where this goes. Focusing more time, resources, and effort on health, loved ones, learning and growing and living with joy- simply and fully.

Leave a Reply

