unravelling the overloaded wardrobe

2014 is the time to declutter my wardrobe. No more, “But I might wear that again.” I have boxes full of but-I-might-wear-that-agains, and they need to go. This may be the singular biggest area where I get my wants and needs mixed up. I do need some clothes for work and for working out and for special occasions, etc. But how much is enough? When does “needing it for work” turn into a justification to buy whatever new article of clothing I want. And sure I want a new winter coat. We spend most of our lives in them up here in Minnesota. But I have a coat, so need is not really a word that applies here.

More to that point is that we already require clothes for several seasons. What’s worse, as a new mom I went through about four wardrobe changes in the last year. It’s not just the maternity and nursing clothes but also the major weight gains and losses. And I still don’t know where I’ll end up, so I’ve been hanging on to everything!

This has all led me to wonder… Not thinking about any of the clothes that I actually own or want to keep, how many clothes do I really require? Here’s what Livingonadime.com had to say:

7-9 work/dressy outfits
5-7 casual outfits
2-3 outfits for relaxing at home
3-4 pairs work shoes (depends on your work. Only 2 if you wear tennis shoes or similar shoes to work)
3 pairs casual shoes

Editing to fit my lifestyle it would be about:

9 shirts
7 sweaters
2 sweatshirts
9 tanks/tees
5 pairs of shoes
2 pairs of sandals
2 pairs of boots
7 pairs of pants
2 skirts
2 dresses

I wonder if I could get it down to that?! It seems reasonable. I’ve been feeling frustrated lately with my clothes anyway. I have so much in my closet and still I don’t know what to wear. This may be the perfect solution. I think I will start by picking out the outfits that I feel great in and go from there- focusing my attention on how much I like the pieces that I am going to keep rather than agonizing over the ones I am giving up. Then over to the consignment shop for an added bonus. Ah, the rewards of living simply.

5 thoughts on “unravelling the overloaded wardrobe

  1. The first step, I did to step into my journey of Minimalism was to de-clutter my clothes. Like you I had a lot of clothes with the tag of ‘Oh, I might just wear this someday’ Fact remains that I never did. So I donated, trashed and sold almost 3/4th of my clothing.

    Now, all my closet has only things I love. That’s the best part, I get to wear what I love every single day of my life!

    You’ll discover the joy too. Just go for it 🙂

    Would love the feedback of a fellow minimalist on my blog.

    Do have a look 🙂

Leave a Reply

